Questions YOU should ask in the job interview

Questions YOU should ask in the job interview

Over the years I have recruited many people for a variety of different roles in organisations.

While I have been very interested in the answers to the questions I asked I was also interested in the questions that the applicants asked.

Your questions in an interview can not only help you decide on whether you want the job but also help your chances in winning it!

If you are looking for a job as a career and not just as a way of making some money then it is important that you evaluate the company just as carefully as they are evaluating you.

These are some of the questions I have asked in interviews that have benefited me in obtaining the position:

Could you please describe the company culture here ?

Where does the company see itself in the next 3 to 5 years ?

How is extra effort rewarded ?

What are the opportunities to advance if I do this role well?

Is this a new or replacement position ?

May I ask why the previous person left ? (if a replacement position)

Is there a formal performance review process and how does it work ?

Could you please describe the induction process for me ?

Are their opportunities for further training or professional development ?

I suggest you come up with a list of questions that are important to you and write them down and bring them to the interview. Don't be scared to consult this list during the interview to ask your questions as it shows you are organised and well prepared.

All the best with your job hunting!